ASEAN Explained: Asia’s Version of the European Union?

ASEAN (or the Association of Southeast Asian Nations) comprises 10 significant Southeast Asian nations, including Malaysia, Philippines, Thailand and Vietnam. The union has been relatively hands-off historically – but with one of their members, Myanmar, becoming increasingly controversial people are beginning to ask if ASEAN will step up and become a fully-fledged ‘European Union’ of Asia.

Dispute facts / content in the video / article